top of page
  • Writer's pictureOlivia F.

2019 Manifesto

I've never been big on New Year's Resolutions. I am a firm believer that fresh starts can happen any day of the year, and big changes in direction tend to require more than just a change of date. However, I also am a big fan of living your best life, living intentionally, and reflecting on the past every once in a while.

A few years ago, I was challenged to come up with a one word resolution for the year. I love this method because it allows freedom for interpreting and adjusting as life situations change, without losing it's true intent. This is a word I focus on that often comes to mind when making decisions or even in my personal Bible study and memorization. It is not necessarily a list of specific, check mark-able goals that can ultimately be a source of frustration if not met, but rather a mindset shift. Previous words have included happy, gratitude, and invest. This year my word is TRUST.


2018 was a great year for me. I had my best year of high school yet, graduated (and didn't miss high school), traveled to Gulf Shores Alabama, Sarasota Florida, and The Wilds Christian Camp in North Carolina (my last year...sad), moved to college, met amazing people and realized the magnitude of a few treasured friendships from high school, and learned so many new things. Nonetheless, it was not without it's challenges. For the sake of privacy, I won't go into anything in great detail. Still a few large unknowns remain in my life.


This year, I am determined to continue trusting God. Be it with my health, an unknown situation, or uncertainty about the future and the feasibility of an amazing opportunity, I will trust Him through the unknowns. I know "The LORD will perfect that which concerns me." Psalm 138:8. Beyond that He is all-powerful and "I know You can do anything, and no one can stop You." Job 42:2.


So trust is my main word for this year. I've also chosen to write out a 2019 (and also life) Manifesto. Without further ado...


2019 Manifesto

1. Become more interruptible

  • Give time and energy

2. Be generous with a joyful heart

  • don't be selfish with money, but give with the RIGHT ATTITUDE

3. LOVE life and live BIG. But, when trials come, view it as an opportunity to share in "the fellowship of His sufferings."

  • TOP priority is CHRISTLIKENESS not happiness

4. SERVE!

  • And do so with JOY

  • Be on the lookout for opportunities

  • 2 Corinthians 12:15 "I will most gladly spend and be spent for your souls."

5. Pour out & refuel

  • absolutely pour myself out for people, going above and beyond whenever possible

  • BUT do NOT forget to refuel through time alone with God

6. TRUST more, overthink less

  • let God have total control of my life (and rest in that)

7. Steward and hone talents

  • all to the glory of God

8. Find ways to make money

  • in order to be financially stable, give back, and be ready for opportunites when they arise

9. Become a prayer warrior

  • always praying and leaving everything in God's hands

  • building up that prayer endurance and learning to spend long amounts of time in communication with my Savior

10. Memorize more scripture

  • become BATTLE ready!


Believe me, I am a work in progress. But that is when God shows Himself strong :) What do you do for New Year's Resolutions? Have a word for 2019? Please share them in the comments!!


Subscribe below for post notification!


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page