top of page
  • Writer's pictureOlivia F.

Red River Gorge

Who knew Kentucky has super great hiking? This spring break, I joined Purdue Bible Fellowship in a wonderful cabin out in the boonies to enjoy nature, each other, and lots of time in God's word!

Our trip was March 10-15. I meant to get a blog up sooner, but school and life have been crazy since I got back, so priorities call! Things are finally slowing down here as Friday was my last day of classes (bless) and I only have one final...then I'm home free!


From West Lafayette we had a 4.5-5 hour drive, but we stretched it with some food stops (we introduced a few people to the southern sensation that is Waffle House) to around 7 hours.


Of course I can't include everything that happened in the blog, so I'll just give a brief overview of what we did on each of the 4 main days!

Monday: Each day we would wake up and have personal devotion time, then gather for breakfast. We would also have a longer devotion and a short one. Typically the long one would be in the morning with discussion time to follow. I was blessed with an awesome discussion group to share prayers, laughter, and even tears.


After this we hiked the Indian staircase, which had a semi-intense "rock climbing" portion right before you reach the peak, but the view was definitely worth it! Our devotion time focused a lot on God as Creator throughout the week, which was awesome as we were totally able to see that displayed in nature during all our hiking, exploring, and relaxing!


Tuesday: This was my favorite day of the trip...First of all, we went Cave Kayaking!

I am a sucker for adventure and trying new things, so this was right up my ally! The craziest part was when we reached a point where there was no natural light left and we all turned off our lights to experience complete darkness. It was a weird feeling to open and close your eyes and have NO difference. I kept expecting my eyes to adjust, but they never did!


We also went on another hike to the natural bridge this day, which I actually liked even better than the Indian Staircase. It was a quicker hike but good exercise anyway as it was basically climbing up the whole time. We had a while at the top to just chill, hang hammocks, and eat lunch so it was a great day!

Arrow through to see all the pics in this slideshow

Wednesday: This was the free day and we had so much fun!! Our car loaded up and headed to Richmond, Kentucky for the day. We first found the cutest coffee shop called Purdys and hung out there for a little reading and tic tac toe ;) Then the girls floated in a few shops while the guys went to eat sushi. When we picked them up at the sushi place we spotted Goodwill and Ollies across the street. We found a few gems...the cat face and peep hats being our favorites!

Thursday: We spent most of the day around the cabin Thursday. I was able to have devotion time on the dock and take a walk with a few friends. But the highlight of the day was the euchre tourney...my partner Victoria and I whipped out those peeps hats like nobody's business, plus, we had a fan club with supportive hats as well. #peepgangforlife Anyways, we didn't win the whole thing, but we won the first round and I'd say we had the most fun of any duo, so that's got to count for something, right?! ;)

Arrow right for more pics!

Overall Spring break was a great time to strengthen existing friendships and build new ones, spend time in God's word and in His creation, and for personal reasons for me it was really a week of surrender. My favorite part of the trip was Thursday night when we had a devotion time and worship night out under the stars and it was just a sweet time of giving every part of my life to God and trusting Him with it.

I will walk through the flames and I will praise Your name I surrender, I surrender all I won’t wait for the mountaintop, I’ll claim You here I surrender all to You

Jordan Howerton Band "Surrender"



Again, I'm sorry about the delay with blogging lately! I'll be glad to have more time to blog again this summer and am hoping to get into a more consistent posting schedule.


Before I go I just wanted to share this awesome deal with you! As an Amazon Associate, I'm able to offer a one year subscription to the Better Homes and Gardens magazine for only $5.00 (it's normally $47.88). That's 90% off! I've been a subscriber for BH&G for years now and I absolutely love their magazine, so I cannot recommend this deal highly enough!


And just in case you have a camping trip of your own coming up here soon...

Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page