top of page
  • Writer's pictureOlivia F.

When God is Four Days Too Late

"Hold onto hope because God hears you and I still believe He's gonna heal you...He's just two years too late." Someone recently said this to encourage me, as I shared my heart expressing sometimes it's hard to know how to pray because I know God hears me, but I've been asking for healing and relief for years so I know He knows my desire. Keep in mind this was said a bit tongue in cheek, but it got me thinking. Is God ever late?


Jesus never seems to be in a hurry in the Bible, but there is one time in particular that stands out to me. Jesus was 4 days too late.


John 11:17 & 21

Now when Jesus came, he found that Lazarus had already been in the tomb four days...Martha said to Jesus, “Lord, if you had been here, my brother would not have died."


As I was listening to this portion of the Bible recently, everything hit me differently because I realized Jesus was purposefully late. What? Why? The answers are right in front of us.


1. Jesus could've prevented Lazarus' death & his sister's grief, but He chose to allow it.


John 11:6

So when he heard that Lazarus was ill, he stayed two days longer in the place where he was.


Jesus knew exactly what would happen when He intentionally stayed put for two extra days. In verse 37, some of the Jews recognize this asking, "could not he who opened the eyes of the blind man also have kept this man from dying?" The journey itself must've been a couple days long because when Jesus came, Lazarus had been dead for 4 days already.


But Jesus did this on purpose.

2. Jesus was purposely late that God might be GLORIFIED.


John 11:3-4

So the sister sent to him saying ''Lord, he whom you love is ill.'' But when Jesus heard it he said, "this illness does not lead to death, It is for the glory of God, so that the Son of God may be glorified through it."


Whoa. And it gets crazier.


3. Jesus was purposely late for our sake


John 11:14-15

Then Jesus told them plainly, ''Lazarus has died, and for your sake I am glad that I was not there, so that you may believe. But let us go to him."


Jesus was GLAD He wasn't there? That is a bold statement. It feels weird. I'm not sure if it settles with me. And then He says it was for US? This seems so odd. There is a beautiful song For Your Glory & My Good that reminds me of this principle we see all through scripture. Because truly this concept all comes together in the incredible result of this story: the miraculous resurrection of Lazarus AND many who believed as a result of this miracle. God was glorified, the faith of believers strengthened, and MANY unbelievers came alive through believing on Christ.


John 11:40-45

Jesus said to her, “Did I not tell you that if you believed you would see the glory of God?” So they took away the stone. And Jesus lifted up his eyes and said, “Father, I thank you that you have heard me. I knew that you always hear me, but I said this on account of the people standing around, that they may believe that you sent me.” When he had said these things, he cried out with a loud voice, “Lazarus, come out.”  The man who had died came out, his hands and feet bound with linen strips, and his face wrapped with a cloth. Jesus said to them, “Unbind him, and let him go.” Many of the Jews therefore, who had come with Mary and had seen what he did, believed in him.


If that were all there was to the story, it would be enough. So incredible. So encouraging and thought-provoking. But there's one more thing that blows me away. Despite Jesus knowing exactly what He was doing and that He would bring healing and miracles soon...


4. Jesus Wept


John 11:30-35

Now Jesus had not yet come into the village, but was still in the place where Martha had met him. When the Jews who were with her in the house, consoling her, saw Mary rise quickly and go out, they followed her, supposing that she was going to the tomb to weep there.  Now when Mary came to where Jesus was and saw him, she fell at his feet, saying to him, “Lord, if you had been here, my brother would not have died.” When Jesus saw her weeping, and the Jews who had come with her also weeping, he was deeply moved in his spirit and greatly troubled. And he said, “Where have you laid him?” They said to him, “Lord, come and see.” Jesus wept.


Jesus cares. He really does. He is compassionate. Sometimes we don't feel it, because all we want is for Him to show that He cares by fixing it. We want the miracle. The healing. The restored relationship. The financial boost. The friend. The job. The grade. I don't know what your unfulfilled longing is, but I understand because I've got a few of my own. And I hope for the page to turn in my circumstances. That's not wrong, but maybe there's more to it. Actually, this story DOES end with a miracle. But first there's a wait.


You may have heard it said that God is never late. I think sometimes He's late on purpose. He's late because if He had healed you last semester, you wouldn't have connected with that friend who's struggling with her health too. You wouldn't have shared your testimony, or written that song, or put that post on social media. Your little brother wouldn't have seen God through you and gotten saved. Your neighbor across the street who knows your story but doesn't say a word to you wouldn't have started reading their Bible. And when miracles come, we know to whom the glory belongs. God's timing is perfect and purposeful.


And even when He disciplines us, it's like a good father with his son's best interest in mind (Proverbs 3:11-12). And when we suffer He doesn't delight in it (Lamentations 3:31-33), but He does promise to use it for good and for His glory (Hebrews 12:11, Romans 8:28). Remember, it's not just about us. If another soul can pass from death to life through an extension of our suffering, there is purpose. The world is watching and so often God uses people like you and me to draw them to Himself. We get to be part of this story. It doesn't always make it easy, but it does make it worth it.


In your waiting, He is working. For His glory and our good.


make yourself at home,

Liv


Hey wait, don't go yet...

  • After I had written this article over Christmas break, I found one from The Village Church that literally covers this exact topic, and says it better than I do. So if you're still curious, check it out!

  • Some seasons of waiting are harder than others, and we're gonna go under if we don't get some ammo. Here are some verses about waiting that are helpful to memorize and keep in your arsenal to fight despairing thoughts that may creep in. Psalm 27:13-14, Isaiah 40:28-30

  • Don't forget to check out For Your Glory & My Good

  • Stay tuned for an exciting announcement coming next month...fun things on the way!

  • and for my committed readers who have made it this far, thank you so much for your feedback on my instagram post about blog topics. I am going to focus in on interior design, faith, and style (& I have some ideas on how to tie style in to my main topics...). And I will definitely post pictures and suggestions from my favorite travels! As far as food goes, follow along on my instagram stories and I'll try to share some ideas for healthy snacks and meals. I'm also trying to become more consistent using stories for style and interior design inspiration, so that should become more consistent as we go along. I love your feedback so keep the dms, comments, and suggestions coming :)


2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page