top of page
  • Writer's pictureOlivia F.

5 Ways to Make Your Dorm "Homey"

We all know the feeling. The "oh shoot, I live here now. Is this supposed to be home? It kinda feels like a hotel..." feeling. Without further ado, here are 5 tips to make your dorm, apartment, or even house, "homey."


1. Aroma: light a candle or invest in a reed diffuser


Seriously, walking into a room that smells good is one of life's simplest pleasures. For real. Inhaling the scent of pumpkins, flowers, or best yet, baked goods (even if they're not real...*tear*) is one surefire way to ensure a space you actually want to be in. It inspires me to curl up in a blanket, pour a cup of coffee, and grab a good book. Or, you know, do homework. Duty calls, unfortunately.


Technically, I live in an apartment. But I know, I know. Most dorms don't allow candles...and for that matter, neither do many apartments. Thankfully there are other options. One of my all time favorites is Magnolia Home's reed diffuser in the scent "bloom." Gosh, it's good y'all. I still smell it every single time I walk into my bedroom, months later. That is a big dub, if you ask me. It's a bit of an investment for a college student on a budget, but well worth your money. And it will last for a long time. I've had mine since the beginning of the semester (about 3 months now) and have only used about a half inch of the oil.


2. Plant babies


I'll be the first to admit, my thumb is as brown as they come. I happen to have killed the first three succulents I've ever owned...


Fortunately, I've lived and learned and am here to save your future succulents. Ready for the key to success? Don't overwater. Apparently that means literally a few drops about once a week. The succulent you see above is thriving, and I must say I'm a proud plant mama. Every Sunday I stick that sucker under the sink and give it a drink, and for the rest of the week she sits on my windowsill soaking up the sun. Even if you're like me, and plants aren't really your jam, there is just something about seeing your little plant grow that gives joy and satisfaction. You don't have to go start a garden, but girl, jump on the succulent train. You won't be disappointed!


3. Make your Bed


It sounds cliché, but I am a firm believer in making your bed. An organized life starts with an organized space. How would you feel if you're entire house was trashed? Clutter everywhere, nothing in it's place...that is a recipe for chaos and unrest. No peace in that environment. Think of it this way: when you live in a dorm, your entire "house" is your bedroom. So an unmade bed is essentially a trashed house. I can only speak from personal experience, but walking back into my bedroom when my bed is made feels peaceful and like coming home. But walking in when I ran out of time to make my bed feels chaotic and gross. Honestly, I've only run out of time to make my bed a few mornings in the semester, and the first thing I do after classes is make it! Maybe I'm a neat freak, maybe I'm not, but I think there's something to it.



4. Keep home close


Put up pictures of your family and friends! I believe houses become homes, but truly people are what makes a place feel like home. So whoever it is that makes you feel at home...family, friends, or your pet parakeet, keep pictures posted all over to remind you of your loves! And if you ever get lonely, odds are, they are just one phone call away. Don't you love the 21st century? ;)


5. Inspiring items in prime locations


For me, it's my keyboard, ukulele, and a chalkboard. These are the things that remind me of my passions and creative outlets in music and calligraphy. Find a few items that inspire you, and keep them where you'll see them. As important as schoolwork, your major, and/or your job are, these should be separate from that aspect of your life. Remember to give yourself a break and be a well-rounded person. Your space should inspire you!


Whether you implement all of these tips, or only a few, I hope you come to feel at home in your space!

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page