top of page
  • Writer's pictureOlivia F.

Light and Airy Living Room

Transforming our formal, Victorian living room into a light and airy music room that flows with the rest of our house. Today's post includes before and after pictures of what I consider my first "official" interior design project as well as a peek into my heartbeat behind intentional design. Stick around to the end (or just skip to it ;)) if you're interested in my interior design services!

The after

The before

During my senior year of high school I interned at L.J. Wagner Home Interiors. This was an amazing learning opportunity for me that solidified my decision to pursue residential interior design. My parents decided to redo our living room during this time and I was able to head the project through my time at LJ Wagner and revamp the dated, Victorian room into this beautiful space.

One thing I love is that we were able to keep the side tables and bookcase, and still completely revamp a room! This goes to show that beautiful transformations CAN happen on a budget. We even kept the paint color!


Above the old couch we had a picture of a piano that my dad really liked. It meant a lot to him to incorporate music, so I found an Etsy listing we all love of hymns on wood canvas. Another element I love is that we kept the chair and stool that was my great-grandma's and recovered them with new fabric rather than totally starting new. It's little elements like this that make a room custom and meaningful.


My mom came to me with a picture from a magazine of a floral gray and yellow chair by windows with white, airy curtains. This served as our inspiration for the color palate and feel of the room. While we couldn't find the exact fabric, I was able to utilize the fabric swatches at LJ Wagner to find one similar!

I mainly used to use this room to play piano, and that was about it. Now, I spend a lot of time curled up on the couch with a good book and even find myself wanting to play piano more because of the setting. But the BEST part is when I see my family doing that too! My mom says whenever she passes the living room, it just makes her happy. This is why I love interior design. It sounds so cliché and cheesy, but the way we FEEL in that room is different now. Instead of a heavy feeling, it's light and bright and happy. Guests come into our house and comment on how they love the living room. Just the other day a friend came who hadn't been over in a while and said the room felt different... He asked if it was tidier than normal or something? haha obviously he had not been there in a while and maybe isn't the most observant, but he still noticed there was a different feel.


That is what fires me up! I believe our homes should refuel and recharge us. We are affected by our environment, whether we realize it or not. I am passionate about homes (or apartments or dorms...) that inspire creativity, gathering, hospitality, peace, and order. I know design can become materialistic which is why I want to remain intentional about why I do what I do.


More before pics:

All that said, everyone has a different design style and unique taste for what inspires them. I would love to be a part of helping you with any of your design needs and wants! I am offering freelance design services with negotiable rates. Please contact me for more information or to get started!


email: livfella@yahoo.com

Or head over to the about page and scroll to the bottom



1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page