top of page
  • Writer's pictureOlivia F.

Mini Refreshes: Family Room

Updated: Jun 1, 2020

Welcome to my -m i n i r e f r e s h e s- series! Lately we've made a lot of small changes in our home like updating pillows, artwork, bedspreads, etc. & found it doesn't take a total overhaul to make a huge impact! As most of you know, I am a college student so I'm not living at home for most of the year but my mom and I worked together to give this little facelift to the family room. I'd describe our home as french-country cottage meets farmhouse with earthy colors and a light & airy feel.

Above is the updated space, and below you can see what it was before. The updates were very simple: art, blankets, and pillows. We shifted from the rust colored accent to a lighter peachy tone which definitely helps liven it up for spring & summer and I'm thinking we'll love it year round. We also decided to bypass matching pillows and create our own mix which is what I'm expecting to see continue to be most popular. Neither is right or wrong, just a matter of preference! I'm also loving oversized pillows lately as they're just so cozy & tend to look high quality by nature. (quick tip: If you buy pillow covers, stuff them with a pillow one size up to make them extra full!)

BEFORE:

AFTER:

We actually had a lot of trouble settling on wall art we thought we would love for years to come, but I think we landed on a winner! If you remember my post about Banff, Canada last summer you may recognize this picture. Banff has quickly become one of my favorite locations in the world and makes me want to explore so much more of Canada! Thanks to this Etsy shop we were able to get our picture on this gorgeous wood pallet and we are reminded everyday we are home of this incredible place & the memories we made as a family.

The greenery sconces were also from Etsy and really complete the wall. We actually had a lot of debate over whether or not we needed them but I am so glad we went for it! When in doubt TRY it :)

Here's a fuller view, so as you can see we ended up changing out 4 pillows, updating the wall art, and adding a basket with pillows and blankets. There's another blanket on a chair that isn't pictured and it all looks so cute going into our dining area and kitchen, which I am bummed I don't have pictures of today!

LOVE this pillow from TJ Maxx!

This Ralph Lauren pillow is also from TJ Maxx and unfortunately they don't carry it anymore. The botanical is one of my Wayfair favorites!

I did a ton of the shopping for this room through TJ Maxx because you can get top brands for the best prices and their home section is KILLER! The only bummer is things rotate through very quickly because they usually don't have a huge quantity of any given item so most of these pieces aren't available anymore. But it's a small price to pay for a deal :)

We knew we were doing something right when my older brother commented something about jumping in the basket to cozy up! It was so unlike him & I don't know if he was feeling extra cold or what but it cracked us all up.

I hope this inspires you & reminds you that you don't have to spend a fortune to really freshen up a space! I'll be back next month with updates to my sister & I's boho bedroom.


If you haven't seen it yet, I wrote a bonus post last month all about my ironic word for 2020...interruptible. It's one of my favorite posts capturing the thoughts running around my head with everything God is teaching me lately, plus a cute outfit cause I wanted to share the customizable necklace I found through Amazon that I'm LOVING. Thanks for sticking around!


make yourself at home,

Liv

Before you go...

Subscribe to never miss a post

Shop My Amazon Home Picks ...this is new!

Apparel YOU can relaunch the campaign by making a purchase! Campaigns are open for 3 weeks and orders ship 7-14 days after campaign closes.

Hire Me for design services at a reasonable price as I build my portfolio & you build your dream home :)

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page